Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Posts Tagged ‘Databases’

What do Scary Stories, the Gossip Girl series, Kite Runner, The Golden Compass, The Color Purple, To Kill a Mockingbird and the boy wizard Harry Potter all have in common? Yep, they’re all on the list of banned books compiled by the American Library Association. This week, September 26 – October 3, 2009 is Banned Books Week. Celebrating the Freedom to Read is observed during the last week in September every year.  This ALA event reminds us to not take this precious democratic freedom for granted.

Do you need reviews, summaries, criticism, or articles on literary works like To Kill a Mockingbird?  Try our database The Literature Resource Center. It provides full-text information on thousands of literary works, authors and poets from all genres, time periods and regions of the world. You can read plot summaries, literary criticism, author biographies, listen to podcasts and much more – all from authoritative sources you can use in your research!

Read Full Post »

Have you ever wished that sometimes you could download an article and listen to it later on your laptop? Or perhaps as you drive in your car or walk with your iPod? Well, now you can! This is an exclusive feature of the H.W. Wilson Company databases, called Text-to-Speech. The feature is available now on our subscription to Art Full Text, and coming soon to the Current Biography database.

You can check out Art Full Text and Current Biography along with all 121 of our database titles from our Articles and Databases Webpage.

Read Full Post »

The SciFinder database is moving from a client (on campus only) platform to a new Web version. You have to login to their secure site and create your personal account. When you get a confirming e-mail from the CSA company, you will be able to login from any computer – on campus, dorm, home, or work.

Like any of our subscription databases, you will still have to connect through the Library Website proxy server to authenticate as a valid Worcester State Library user. You will then be taken to the CSA secure site where you login with your personal SciFinder account. To get started using this database, go to the Library Website and click on Articles & Databases  for the alphabetical listing of all databases, or click on Subject Guides and use the link on the Science page.

Read Full Post »